Destroy to Rebuild

I would like to thank the folks at Urban Outfitters for the inspiration that started my own personal project, and this post- because I’ll be damned if I’m paying $50 for a shirt I can make myself.

So- UO is selling these great tee shirts with designs cut out in the back: crosses, skulls, etc. Love the idea, but pricing the shirt at $50?! Get the fuck out.

This lead me on my own mission to design my own shirts.

Here is design #1: image

I know- it needs better lighting/I should’ve just put it on to display…

Anyway, there it is. I added safety pins to keep the look together; it would’ve stayed in tact with the minimal fabric holding it all together, but after a few wears it became worn and started to rip, this it would’ve lost shape.

I’m not even going to post the second design. It was technically my original, but the shape of the design didn’t hold; now it looks like a Wu-Tang Clan logo.

What do you think? Any suggestions for future designs/design mods to get a better result?

-Ben

One thought on “Destroy to Rebuild

Leave a Reply

